Wednesday, December 26, 2012


2013 marks the 50th anniversary of Doctor Who, the longest-running science fiction series in the world; the first episode was broadcast on 23 November 1963 · Each of the Eleven Doctors is featured in the set of 11 stamps depicting the actors who played the role over the last five decades · Fans can pre-order the stamps by registering at 

From 26 March 2013, the stamps will be available to buy online at by phone on 08457 641 641, and in 9000 Post Offices across the UK March 26 2013, will see Royal Mail celebrate the 50th anniversary of the world’s longest running science fiction series in TV history - Doctor Who - with the launch of a special set of 11 stamps. 

 The stamps will feature each of the actors who have played the role of the Time Lord over the last 50 years. The stamp design will see the face of each Doctor appearing out of the iconic swirling screen idents, made famous by the opening credits of the TV show. The first two stamps are in black and white, as the first two incarnations of the Doctor were broadcast in monochrome. 

 Featuring on the stamps are the present Doctor, Matt Smith, as well as David Tennant, Christopher Eccleston, Paul McGann, Sylvester McCoy, Colin Baker, Peter Davison, Tom Baker, Jon Pertwee, Patrick Troughton and the First Doctor, William Hartnell. In addition to the 11 stamps featuring the Doctors, a five stamp miniature sheet will also be available. In the centre of the sheet is a stamp featuring the Doctor’s space and time travelling machine, the world famous Time and Relative Dimension in Space or the TARDIS as it is more commonly known. 

The remaining four stamps feature some of the Doctor’s most famous foes; a Dalek, a Cyberman, an Ood and a Weeping Angel. Andrew Hammond, Managing Director, Stamps and Collectibles at Royal Mail, said: “We are delighted to be able to celebrate this remarkable 50th anniversary. These stamps pay tribute to the brilliant actors that have played the Doctor over the years as well as the adversaries that helped make the show so popular.” Fiona Eastwood, Product Development Director, BBC Worldwide Consumer Products said: “The Doctor Who stamps are the perfect way to mark and celebrate the 50th anniversary of this much-loved programme. 

The collection is really impressive, and I am sure they will delight all Doctor Who fans.“ The stamps launch on March 26 2013, but fans can pre-order today by registering at

 The Doctors in order: 
 First Doctor: William Hartnell – First broadcast in 1963 until 1966 
 Second Doctor: Patrick Troughton – First broadcast in 1966 until 1969 
 Third Doctor: Jon Pertwee – First broadcast in 1970 until 1974 
 Fourth Doctor: Tom Baker – First broadcast in 1974 until 1981 
 Fifth Doctor: Peter Davison – First broadcast in 1982 until 1984 
 Sixth Doctor: Colin Baker – First broadcast in 1984 until 1986 
 Seventh Doctor: Sylvester McCoy – First broadcast in 1987 until 1989 
 Eighth Doctor: Paul McGann – First broadcast in 1996 (TV film only) 
 Ninth Doctor: Christopher Eccleston – First broadcast in 2005 
 Tenth Doctor: David Tennant – First broadcast in 2005 until 2010 
 Eleventh Doctor: Matt Smith – First broadcast in 2010 to date

1 comment:

Sabrina Steyling said...

This is totally cool! I messaged your link to a bunch of my Doctor Who fan friends already, and although I'm a relatively new fan of the series I'm geeking out over this in a way I never thought possible. :)


Blog Widget by LinkWithin